THE Republic of Ireland named their 23-man squad for Euro 2012 with Wigan Athletic midfielder James McCarthy withdrawing from the squad because his father has been diagnosed with cancer.

In a statement issued by the Football Association of Ireland, McCarthy said: “I have made the very difficult decision to withdraw my name from selection from the Euro 2012 squad following the diagnosis of my father with cancer and an ongoing requirement for treatment.

“I have discussed this with the manager. He was very understanding and I thank him sincerely for that. I take this opportunity to reaffirm my complete commitment to playing for the Republic of Ireland. I would like to wish the manager and my team-mates every success at the tournament and hope that Irish fans can understand the reason for my decision at this difficult time.”

Ireland: Shay Given (Aston Villa), Keiren Westwood (Sunderland), David Forde (Millwall); John O’Shea (Sunderland), Richard Dunne (Aston Villa), Sean St Ledger (Leicester City), Stephen Ward (Wolves), Kevin Foley (Wolves), Stephen Kelly (Fulham), Darren O’Dea (Celtic); Keith Andrews (West Brom), Glenn Whelan (Stoke), Darron Gibson (Everton), Damien Duff (Fulham), Aiden McGeady (S Moscow), Stephen Hunt (Wolves), Keith Fahey (Birmingham), James McClean (Sunderland); Robbie Keane (LA Galaxy), Kevin Doyle (Wolves), Shane Long, Simon Cox (both West Brom), Jonathan Walters (Stoke). Stand-by Darren Randolph (Motherwell), Paul McShane (Crystal Palace), Paul Green (Unattached), Seamus Coleman (Everton), Andy Keogh (Millwall).

Other Premier League stars to watch out for:

Poland – Lukas Fabianski and Wojciech Szczesny (Arsenal)

Czech Republic – Petr Cech (Chelsea), Tomas Rosicy (Arsenal)

Holland – Tim Krul (Newcastle), Nigel De Jong (Man City), Dirk Kuyt (Liverpool), Robin van Persie (Arsenal).

Denmark – Thomas Sorensen (Stoke), Anders Lindegaard (Man Utd), Daniel Agger (Liverpool), Nicklas Bendtner (Sunderland)

Germany – Per Mertesacker (Arsenal)

Portugal – Raul Meireles (Chelsea), Nani (Man Utd)

Spain – Pepe Reina (Liverpool), David De Gea (Man Utd), David Silva (Man City)

Italy – Mario Balotelli (Man City)

Croatia – Luka Modric and Niko Kranjcar (Spurs), Nikica Jelavic (Everton)

Sweden – Martin Olsson (Blackburn), Jonas Olsson (WBA), Sebastian Larsson (Sunderland)

France – Patrice Evra (Man Utd), Gael Clichy (Man City), Laurent Koscielny (Arsenal), Florent Malouda (Chelsea), Samir Nasri (Man City), Yohan Cabaye (Newcastle), Hatem Ben Arfa (Newcastle)

Also visit – Britishballs JobsĀ 

BBM Live Jobs

GoWest JobsĀ 

Pet Boarding Perth